jeudi 31 mars 2016

Justice Calling( The Twenty-sided Sorceress1) by Annie Bellet

Hello to all!

For the last day of March , i decided to try and finish at least one more book and i did it^^ so i'm happy to introduce you to a series that i want to follow at least for now: The Twenty-Sided Sorceress by Annie Bellet. If you are lucky you could probably get the ebook for free at your favourite retailer.

Happy reading!
Publisher: Annie Bellet
Publication: 2014
Genre: urban fantasy
Violence: strong

Language: normal
sex: mild
Public: 18+
Source: free

Description from goodreads :

Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress.

Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho. After twenty-five years fleeing from a powerful sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her powers, quiet suits her just fine. Surrounded by friends who are even less human than she is, Jade figures she’s finally safe.

As long as she doesn’t use her magic.

When dark powers threaten her friends’ lives, a sexy shape-shifter enforcer shows up. He’s the shifter world’s judge, jury, and executioner rolled into one, and he thinks Jade is to blame. To clear her name, save her friends, and stop the villain, she’ll have to use her wits… and her sorceress powers.

Except Jade knows that as soon as she does, a far deadlier nemesis awaits.

Justice Calling is the first book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress urban fantasy series. Readers who enjoyed The Dresden Files or The Iron Druid Chronicles will likely enjoy this series.

My opinion:
          An excellent discovery! I'm really happy to finally have decided to read this book that was in my pile for so long and i do regret not having the second one ready.

Jade is a sorceress in hiding....because that's not the kind of magic with the best reputation to start with but also because someone wants to kill her more than anything.  To do so she decided to play in plain sight by living in a place surrounded by shifters of all kind, some covens, and other paranormal, even if they think she is a simple witch she is happy there running a shop about comic and roleplaying game.
I must say that the fact she was loving roleplaying game and making allusion to it made this story even funnier for me. I mean imagine a real sorceress, with the power to throw real fireball, playing a simple mage in a virtual game... too funny and at the same i could envision it too well.
She is a fighter though and i was intrigued by her Wolf sprit ( oki i start to wonder why she is called Wolf by the way but that i will keep a surprise for you), she speak her mind and bloodlust has funny effect on her ^^;;

Justice, or Alek since Justice is a title, is a shifter, a tiger shifter to be more precise. Yes a feline one which isn't surprising since he is kind of a head security ( and judge and jury) and from several books it seems a trend than paranoïd, a bit close minded ( or at least  fully bent to one objective and obtuse about the rest) shifter must be feline one. I did like him, really.
The others gamers, shifters of all kind ( fox, wolverine etc) are funny. Harper especially, she is acting so young.

The plot isn't fully new but it's well written and i took pleasure following Jade trying to help and hide at the same time. The magic we see at use is mostly bad, really dark while hers which should be , if we follow what the people think, is in fact a lot more natural and can be used for good.

It's not a long novel but one that i do recommend if you want a good urban fantasy ( with a touch of roleplaying game)

Score:  4,5/5

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own and no compensation was received in exchange for this review


Take Control of Your TBR Pile

6 commentaires:

  1. Miki,

    I have six books of Annie Bellet’s “Twenty-Sided Sorceress” series.
    I also have fifteen of her short stories.

    Other series by Annie Bellet:
    Cymru That Was, Pyrrh Considerable Crimes Division, The Gryphonpike Chronicles,
    and The Lorian Archive Trilogy.

    Glad you liked Justice Calling. Thanks for your review.


    1. i didn't even know there was so much by this author i will have to be more careful^^
      thank you for telling me

  2. Yay for getting one more read in and it being a good one! I'd not heard of her before I don't think.

  3. This sounds like a pretty good read. I do love a good urban fantasy and even if the plot isn't the most unique thing in the world, as long as it is interesting.

  4. Glad you found a new series to try! The covers for this remind me a lot of the Mercy Thompson series. :D

  5. Glad to hear this was so well written and I enjoy a shifter book with paranormal elements.